Major Political Shift: Key Congress Leaders Join BJP in Assam

News Reporter News Reporter
Wednesday, March 27, 2024
Major Political Shift: Key Congress Leaders Join BJP in Assam
Tinsukia District Congress President and Senior Leaders Embrace BJP in Dibrugarh Ceremony
27 March, 24: In a significant political development in Assam, Tinsukia District Congress president Pranab Baruah, former APCC general secretary Birinchi Neog, senior Congress leader Mahesh Moran, and Thomas Baruah crossed party lines today to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The high-profile defections occurred in the presence of Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, marking a notable shift in the state's political landscape.

Speaking at the event in Dibrugarh, CM Himanta Biswa Sarma extended a warm welcome to the new BJP members, expressing confidence in their contributions to the party's growth in Assam. He emphasized the collective effort needed to fortify the BJP's presence in the state and praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi's leadership, asserting that his influence resonates not only nationwide but also globally.

The induction of these prominent Congress leaders into the BJP signifies a strategic move by the ruling party to consolidate its support base and expand its influence in Assam. The decision reflects shifting political dynamics and underscores the BJP's growing appeal in the region.

The joining of Pranab Baruah, Birinchi Neog, Mahesh Moran, and Thomas Baruah is expected to bolster the BJP's organizational strength in Assam ahead of upcoming political challenges. Their decision to align with the ruling party underscores the BJP's momentum and underscores the challenges facing the Congress in the state.

As Assam gears up for future electoral battles, the defection of key Congress figures to the BJP is likely to have far-reaching implications, shaping the political landscape and dynamics in the region. With these new additions, the BJP aims to further consolidate its position and advance its agenda in Assam under the leadership of CM Himanta Biswa Sarma.