Presidential Accord: Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma Celebrates President's Acceptance of Delimitation Notification

Editor Editor
Wednesday, August 16, 2023
Presidential Accord: Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma Celebrates President's Acceptance of Delimitation Notification
Historic Moment for Assam as Delimitation Notification Gets Presidential Nod, Confirms Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma
Assam's Chief Minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma, has hailed a significant milestone in the state's history following the approval of the Delimitation Notification by President Droupadi Murmu. The notification, issued by the Election Commission of India, has far-reaching implications for Assam's electoral landscape.

In a statement, Chief Minister Sarma expressed his elation, saying, "Today, the Honorable President has approved the Delimitation Notification issued by the Election Commission of India for Assam. A significant milestone has been achieved in the history of Assam. Jai Maa Bharati Jai Aai Asom."

Unveiling the Changes: Delimitation Report Highlights

According to the Election Commission's final report on Assam's delimitation, the number of assembly and parliamentary constituencies will remain unaltered, standing at 126 and 14, respectively. However, the report does mention a revision in the nomenclature of one parliamentary and 19 assembly constituencies.

The delimitation process led to the reservation of 19 assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies for Scheduled Tribes (STs). Meanwhile, one Lok Sabha and nine assembly constituencies have been reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs).

It's noteworthy that the redrawing of all assembly and parliamentary constituencies in Assam was based on the 2001 Census data.

Evolving to Reflect Public Demand

In response to public demand, the Election Commission has introduced "paired names" for certain constituencies. These include names such as Darrang-Udalgiri, Hajo-Sualkuchi, Boko-Chaygaon, Nagaon-Batadraba, Bhowanipur-Sorbhog, and Algapur-Katlichera.

The Election Commission has also outlined key features of the final report, emphasizing that the lowest administrative unit was considered as 'village' in rural areas and 'ward' in urban regions. This approach ensures that the identity and integrity of villages and wards remain unaffected throughout the state.

Empowering Marginalized Communities

Significant changes can be seen in the increase of assembly seats for Scheduled Castes (SCs) from eight to nine and for Scheduled Tribes (STs) from 16 to 19. Additionally, Bodoland districts will witness an increase in assembly constituencies from 11 to 15, amplifying the representation of these regions.

In Conclusion, the approval of the Delimitation Notification marks a pivotal moment for Assam's political landscape. Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma's jubilant response reflects the significance of this development in the state's history. The electoral changes aim to ensure fair representation and uphold the values of democracy while accommodating public sentiments. The journey towards a more inclusive political framework for Assam is on its way, solidifying the commitment to equitable representation of diverse communities in the democratic process.